2018 School Trustee Elections

On October 20, 2018 elections for local school trustees will be held in conjunction with the 2018 BC General Local Election.

Local school trustee elections allow the community an important opportunity to choose representatives who will lead and oversee our valuable investment in public education.  Trustees are hardworking community leaders who come together in the context of a board in support of student success. The work is demanding, but important and rewarding.

The nomination period for the 2018 Local Government Election closed at 4 pm on Friday, September 14th. The Declaration of Candidates for each municipality has been issued. 

Note: Pursuant to section 98 of the Local Government Act, many candidates have been elected by acclamation. 


District of Squamish (two elected by acclamation)
Ian Kent
Rick Price

Resort Municipality of Whistler (two elected by acclamation)
Cynthia Higgins
Rachael Lythe

Village of Pemberton (one to be elected)
Michelle Butler
Nicole Sugden

Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (two elected by acclamation)
Area C – Rebecca Barley
Area D – Celeste Bickford


Trustee Electoral AreaNumber of TrusteesAuthority Nomination Drop Off Location
Squamish2District of Squamish37955 Second Avenue
Whistler2Resort Municipality of Whistler4325 Blackcomb Way, Whistler
Pemberton1Village of Pemberton 7400 Prospect Street
Electoral Area C1Squamish/Lillooet Regional District1350 Aster Street
Pemberton or School Board Office
Electoral Area D1Squamish/Lillooet Regional District1350 Aster Street
Pemberton or School Board Office

If you have any questions, you can contact your local municipality or Sarah Saunders at the SD 48 Secretary Treasurer’s Office.

Email: ssaunders@sd48.bc.ca
Tel: 604-892-5228